California Waterfowl offers a number of scholarships that help schools pay for our field trips, offer up to $2,000 to college students studying a biological field, or help pay the costs of attending our summer camps.

$400 K-12 field trip scholarships for transportation 

Limited scholarships are available for field trip transportation if your school is unable to cover these costs. Please fill out a scholarship application if interested in this opportunity. Scholarship selection is based on need, school funding status and demographics. Click here for Scholarship Application. Funding provided by Sacramento County, Friends of Stone Lakes and select donors.

How the scholarship works: If your group's application is accepted, the scholarship works as a reimbursement. Once your transportation is booked, you will submit a receipt and a W-9 for your school, and we will then cut a check. The scholarship can cover up to $400 of your transportation fees for the field trip.


Please email Education Coordinator Molly Maupin if you have questions.

Email, fax or mail your application ALONG WITH A W-9 to Education Coordinator Molly Maupin.

Email to:

Fax to: 916-307-5808

Mail to:

Attn: Molly Maupin
California Waterfowl
1346 Blue Oaks Blvd., Suite 100
Roseville CA 95678


the Dennis Raveling scholarship-

The Dennis Raveling Scholarship for Waterfowl Research is awarded annually to a student(s) with a desire to pursue a career in waterfowl or wetlands ecology. Awards are based on the candidate's resolve, high academic achievement and project merit. Candidates must be pursuing an advanced university degree in wildlife, zoology, botany, ecology or other pertinent biological science.

Applicants should submit a ONE-page proposal summary description on an original research or management project. Applicants should be prepared to submit a detailed project proposal if requested. The scholarship is intended to provide field experience and training in the tools, methods and concepts of waterfowl and wetlands research and management. A committee composed of previous students and professional colleagues of Dennis Raveling will select the winning candidates.

There will be two awards:

  • 1st Place: $2,000
  • 2nd Place: $1,000

Applicants should submit a resume and a brief (one-page) study proposal or statement explaining the course of study for which they need support. This material must be accompanied by a letter from a faculty member indicating willingness to sponsor the candidate and detailing any requirements (e.g. provision for a final report or thesis) for receiving university credit. Names and phone numbers of two references are also required (include at least one University instructor and/or previous employment supervisor).

Application deadline: October 31

Complete package should include:

  • One page, single-spaced proposal summary
  • Resume
  • Statement of interest
  • Letter of support from faculty member
  • Names and phone numbers of two references
  • All entries should be single-sided with no staples PLEASE!

Mail to:

Attn: Katy Aguirre
California Waterfowl
1346 Blue Oaks Blvd., Suite 100
Roseville CA 95678